5-6 December 2014, Bangalore
Status: Open for post-event feedback

It’s 2014. Smartphones are everywhere, the app ecosystem is mature, and breaking into the ranks on the app store is more or less a lost cause. Apps today are becoming just a tunnel or gateway for services/content and are increasingly going freemium or totally free, with business models migrating to cloud-based services and with apps as the content interface. When you are in the market amidst thousands of other apps, gaining visibility for apps has become a major issue.

In 2014, the most exciting mobile data opportunities are from wearables. Your mobile app is the conduit to send data into the cloud and retrieve it back as content.

How do you make this strategy work?

UI: It is a long way from an idea budding in your mind to the MVP. What are the design constraints invloved in delivering the best interface? At the same time, when your users are on multiple platforms, how do you make your brand identity stand out while complying with platform guidelines?

Sync: IO eats battery and 3G is still spotty. How do you keep content fresh without killing the phone? Is there a design that compensates for bad internet connectivity and reliance on 3rd party apps? Do you need two way sync? How do you make that work and how to manage online and offline sync?

Versioning: When you introduce new functionality, how do you get installed apps updated? Or not break them?

Hardware: Do you make hardware? Do you depend on users having specific hardware?

Privacy: With user data flowing through so many conduits, some of them third party services, how do you make your privacy policy work?

Security: Is your versioning and cloud-based update model making your app a leaky bucket? How do you lock down? Discuss best practices and methods for securing your data, especially when there is a reliance on third party app.

Android wearables and IoT: Innovations in the world of Android based wearables and the Internet of Things

App Demos: Demonstrations, discussions and community engagements around Android Apps.

Come to Droidcon India 2014 to discuss how you’ve tackled each of these issues.

Format

This year’s edition spans two days of hands-on and conference. We invite proposals for:

Criteria to submit

You must be a practising developer or designer, and must be able to show how your own work has advanced the state of the web in the past year. You are expected to present original work that your peers — this event’s audience — recognise as being notable enough to deserve a stage.

If you are excited about someone’s work and believe it deserves wider recognition, we recommend you contact them and ask them to submit a proposal.

Selection Process

Proposals will be filtered and shortlisted by an Editorial Panel. We will notify you if your proposal is shortlisted. We urge you to add links to videos / slide decks when submitting proposals. This will help us understand your past speaking experience. Blurbs or blog posts covering the relevance of a particular problem statement and how it is tackled, will help the Editorial Panel better judge your proposals.

Proposers must submit presentation drafts as part of the selection process to ensure that the talk is in line with the theme of the conference, and to help the editorial panel build a strong line-up for the event.

There is only one speaker per session. Entry is free for selected speakers. HasGeek will provide a bursary to cover part of your travel and accommodation in Bangalore. Bursaries are limited and made available to speakers delivering full sessions (40 minutes or longer). As our budget is limited, we will prefer speakers from locations closer home, but will do our best to cover for anyone exceptional. If you are able to raise support for your trip, we will count that as speaker travel sponsorship.

If your proposal is not accepted, you can buy a ticket at the same rate as was available on the day you proposed. We’ll send you a code.

Commitment to Open Source

HasGeek believes in open source as the binding force of our community. If you are describing a codebase for developers to work with, we’d like it to be available under a permissive open source license. If your software is commercially licensed or available under a combination of commercial and restrictive open source licenses (such as the various forms of the GPL), please consider picking up a sponsorship. We recognize that there are valid reasons for commercial licensing, but ask that you support us in return for giving you an audience. Your session will be marked on the schedule as a sponsored session.

Confirmed sessions

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Build, Deploy and Scale mobile applications with the Cloud
Abhishek Narain (@nabhishek) (proposing) Workshops Intermediate 1 0 Wed, Nov 26
2 An overview of developing mobile applications on the cloud
Abhishek Narain (@nabhishek) App demos Beginner 1 0 Wed, Nov 26
3 Mobile Chrome Apps - HTML5 mobile apps done right?
Rudi MK (@rudimk) App demos Intermediate 2 0 Mon, Nov 24
4 M.A.W.A- Multimodal Access Ware Android
Gulzar Azad via Tony Simon (@tonysimon) Versioning - full talks Intermediate 3 1 Fri, Nov 21
5 Say hello to Android in C# using Xamarin
Nish (@nishanil) UI - full talks Beginner 2 1 Fri, Nov 14
6 New Material design patterns
Soham Mondal (@soham) UI - full talks Intermediate 3 0 Fri, Nov 14
7 Delightful User Experience
Shreyas Malavalli (@shreyasmalavalli) UI - crisp talks Intermediate -1 2 Wed, Nov 5
8 Android: Building for India. Gearing for 100 Million Users.
Paresh Goel (@pareshgoel) Versioning - full talks Intermediate 3 2 Wed, Nov 5
9 Scaling Open Source
Abhisek Devkota (@ciwrl) Versioning - full talks Beginner 5 0 Thu, Oct 30
10 Leveraging BLE beacons for proximity & positioning
Shreyas B (@sdotb) Hardware – crisp talks Beginner 6 2 Wed, Oct 29
11 Mobile Deep linking
Ramu K C (@kcramu) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 6 4 Tue, Oct 28
12 triggering with jerks and falls
chinmayisk (@csk) Hardware – crisp talks Intermediate 5 3 Mon, Oct 27
13 Abstract UI Concepts
Sriram Ramani (@sriramramani) UI - full talks Intermediate 7 5 Sun, Oct 26
14 What does it take to build an app like FreeCharge?
Raghuram Trikutam (@raghuramat) UI - full talks Beginner 6 2 Fri, Oct 24
15 App Testing, CI & Automation
Sukesh Soman (@sukeshsoman) Versioning - full talks Intermediate 25 3 Tue, Oct 21
16 okulus: Image effects to make your apps stand out
Vinay S Shenoy (@vinaysshenoy) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 10 4 Fri, Oct 17
17 Create your own social network app using Parse.com
Varun (@thevarun) Workshops Intermediate 3 4 Thu, Oct 16
18 One small tap for mankind: Exploring NFC
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Hardware - full talks Beginner 6 4 Sun, Oct 12
19 Hacking through the Android OS code
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Workshops Advanced 40 7 Fri, Oct 10
20 Apps for your wrists and eyes - ( Demo on Google Glass along with app development on Android Wear)
Kashi Vishwanath (@kashi1982) Workshops Intermediate 17 6 Wed, Oct 1

Unconfirmed proposals

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 PROJECT JARVIS
syed amanat (@syedamanat) App demos Intermediate 1 0 Tue, Dec 2
2 Enterprise Ready Test Execution Platform for Mobile Apps
Vijayan Srinivasan (@vijayansrinivasan) Versioning - full talks Beginner 26 1 Mon, Nov 24
3 Mobile Applications (Android, other OS too) Strategy when building Applications for Emerging Markets
senthil kumar (@sethilkumaresan) Workshops Intermediate 2 0 Sat, Nov 22
4 Applying Design Thinking to Mobile Game Development
Preethi Raj (@preethi-raj) (proposing) Workshops Advanced 1 0 Sat, Nov 15
5 Tah : Open Source BLE Arduino-compatible Board
Anuj Deshpande (@anujdeshpande) App demos Intermediate 2 0 Fri, Nov 14
6 Android on OpenSource Hardwares (Raspberry Pi, Cubieboard & BeagleBoneBlack)
Siji Sunny Hardware - full talks Intermediate 3 0 Fri, Nov 14
7 Measuring App Install campaign’s effectiveness
Deepak Abbot (@deepakabbot) Workshops Intermediate 1 0 Thu, Nov 13
8 Solving for two-way data sync
Shrivatsa Swadi (@sswadi) Versioning - full talks Intermediate 4 1 Wed, Nov 5
9 Data caching and asynchronous data binding for seamless user experience
Arpit Toshniwal (@arpit2k8) UI - full talks Intermediate 25 2 Wed, Nov 5
10 Bridging the Hardware Gap with Embedded Systems 2.o
Deepak Gupta (@iambramha) Hardware - full talks Intermediate 2 4 Wed, Nov 5
11 How I built my own Irrigation Controller
Shree Kumar (@shreekumar) Hardware - full talks Intermediate 6 0 Tue, Nov 4
12 Drupal - A drop in scalable & secure backend for Android Apps
Safwan Erooth (@esafwan) Workshops Beginner 32 2 Tue, Nov 4
13 Real world implementations of Material Design
Sowmya Guru (@droiddev) Workshops Intermediate 5 0 Tue, Nov 4
14 Strategic Mobile Application Security
Dinesh Shetty (@dineshshetty) Security – full talks Intermediate 2 0 Mon, Nov 3
15 Optimizing your Apps for Emerging Markets
Vinay Gaba (@vinaygaba) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 7 1 Sat, Nov 1
16 A Cyanogen Journey
Abhisek Devkota (@ciwrl) Hardware – crisp talks Beginner 3 1 Thu, Oct 30
17 I heard that you loved Open source and Android
Anirudh S (@anirudh24seven) Versioning - full talks Beginner 10 0 Tue, Oct 28
18 Power of ViewGroups
Sriram Ramani (@sriramramani) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 4 0 Sun, Oct 26
19 Push to Play : A full CI implementation for Android apps using open tools
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Versioning – crisp talks Beginner 3 1 Sat, Oct 25
20 Enhancing UX/UI Using Custom Views
KK Sharma (@kksharma) UI - full talks Intermediate 15 0 Sat, Oct 25
21 Polymer
indu s (@indu28) UI - crisp talks Beginner 0 0 Fri, Oct 24
22 Tips for Designers: from a developer
Alok Vaish (@alok-vaish) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 31 1 Wed, Oct 22
23 Effective patterns for communication between application components
Achin Kumar (@contactachin) Workshops Intermediate 33 3 Wed, Oct 22
24 Android App (Vulner)ability
Subho Halder (@sunnyrockzzs) Security – full talks Intermediate 4 0 Wed, Oct 22
25 Cross compiling native Linux libraries for Android
Hitesh Sondhi (@hiteshsondhi88) Workshops Intermediate 34 1 Wed, Oct 22
26 Kick-start your 64bit Android build engines
Amit Pundir (@pundiramit) Hardware – crisp talks Intermediate 7 4 Wed, Oct 22
27 Sorry State of Security in Indian Mobile App Ecosystem
srinivas kodali (@iotakodali) Security – crisp talks Beginner 0 2 Tue, Oct 21
28 Android High performance in GPU using opengles and renderscript
Arvind (@arvinddevaraj) Hardware - full talks Intermediate -1 0 Tue, Oct 21
29 Security of In-app Payments
srinivas kodali (@iotakodali) (proposing) Security – full talks Intermediate 3 0 Tue, Oct 21
30 hardware/IoT
Srinivasan G (@gsvasan) (proposing) Hardware - full talks Advanced 4 1 Tue, Oct 21
31 Lil'Debi-Running Debian on Android
Kumar Sukhani (@kumarsukhani) Hardware - full talks Advanced 2 2 Mon, Oct 20
32 Multiboot your device with Android, Firefox and Ubuntu OS
Kumar Sukhani (@kumarsukhani) Hardware - full talks Intermediate 4 0 Mon, Oct 20
33 Android apps for Amazon and BlackBerry- Money with Android
Shashwat Pradhan (@shashwatpradhan) Hardware – crisp talks Beginner -1 2 Mon, Oct 20
34 GlassIC - Google Glass based solution for Insurance claims adjusters
Karan Balkar (@karanbalkarlnt) Workshops Intermediate 12 5 Mon, Oct 20
35 Beyond Looks : The runway to a perfect UI in a nutshell
Yashal Shakti (@yashal) UI - crisp talks Beginner -2 1 Mon, Oct 20
36 Mobile Apps for Developent
Anvita Bajpai (@anvita-bajpai) UI - full talks Intermediate -3 5 Mon, Oct 20
37 Securing User & Android Data
srinivas kodali (@iotakodali) Security – full talks Intermediate 11 0 Sun, Oct 19
38 Moving towards Material Design with Lollipop
Tushar Choudhary (@tusharchoudhary) UI - crisp talks Beginner 26 3 Sat, Oct 18
39 Hack your Business with android & beacons
Tushar Choudhary (@tusharchoudhary) Hardware - full talks Intermediate 23 1 Sat, Oct 18
40 Application of Graph Based Image Segmentation in Android Technology
Basavaprasad B (@basavaprasad) Versioning – crisp talks Beginner -7 2 Sat, Oct 18
41 User Research for Developers
Parul Soi (@parulsoi) UI - crisp talks Beginner -5 0 Thu, Oct 16
42 Enriching your App's UI with SimpleFingerGestures
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) UI - full talks Beginner 12 4 Sun, Oct 12
43 Building our next big thing on a weekend with Google App Engine
Jose L Ugia Gonzalez (@joseluisugia) Versioning - full talks Beginner -4 1 Sat, Oct 11
44 Android Whets - The Must Haves to galvanise your android apps
Jitendra singh (@0jits0) UI - full talks Intermediate 39 5 Wed, Oct 8
45 Power of HTML5: PhoneGap, PhoneJS and more
Anubhav Sinha (@anubhavsinha) UI - full talks Beginner -4 0 Mon, Oct 6
46 Android development using Kivy
indu s (@indu28) Workshops Beginner 0 0 Mon, Oct 6
47 D. Thinking - Thought to Action
Dipesh Khona (@dipeshkhona) Workshops Intermediate -1 1 Thu, Sep 18
48 Android development with Scala and Macroid
Madhukara Phatak (@phatak-dev) UI - crisp talks Intermediate 8 0 Mon, Sep 15