10-11 November 2016 , Bangalore
Status: Submissions and voting closed, awaiting jury selection

Sixth edition of droidconIN.

droidconIN is part of the world wide series of conferences that happens in London, Paris, Berlin, Netherlands, Tunis, Ankara and Brussels. The first edition of droidconIN was at Bangalore in Nov 2011. The second edition in Nov 2012 was featuring General & Specialized Topics, Native + HTML5 and App Demos. The 2013 edition was about Systems, UX, Gaming, Business and App Demos. The 2014 edition featured dedicated tracks for deep dives into UI/UX, Data sync & versioning, App Demos and hardware. The 2015 edition had advanced technical talks with an emphasis on developing for resource contraint regions like India.

Format

This edition spans two days of talks. We are inviting talk proposals for:

Selection process

Proposals will be filtered and shortlisted by an editorial panel. We urge you to add links to videos / slide decks when submitting proposals. This will help us understand your past speaking experience. Blurbs or blog posts covering the relevance of a particular problem statement and how it is tackled will help the editorial panel better judge your proposals.

Selection process is stringent and we follow the procedure outlined in this flowchart:
Selection Process Flowchart

A talk is NOT confirmed till speakers recieve explicit communication from us saying that it is.

A talk can be rejected at any stage by us if we feel the speaker will not fit in the conference for the year. A talk can be canceled by the speaker at any time for any reason. (We would appreciate it, of course, if it isn’t at the last moment.) Please note that selected speakers must mandatorily participate in two rounds of rehearsals before the conference. This not only helps us adhere to the HasGeek format and quality, but also helps speakers prepare better for the intended audience.

There is only one speaker per session. Entry is free for those who are selected. Due to budgetary constraints, we prefer speakers closer to home. But if we think you stand out, we’ll provide a grant to cover part of your travel and accommodation to Bangalore. Grants are limited and are made available to speakers delivering full sessions (40 minutes or longer) only.

Topics

Updated (6th September, 2016): We are currently looking for talks in the following topics:

Commitment to open source

HasGeek believes in open source as the binding force of our community. If you are describing a codebase for developers to work with, we’d like for it to be available under a permissive open source licence. If your software is commercially licensed or available under a combination of commercial and restrictive open source licences (such as the various forms of the GPL), please consider picking up a sponsorship. We recognise that there are valid reasons for commercial licensing, but ask that you support us in return for giving you an audience. Your session will be marked on the schedule as a sponsored session.

Contact

For more information about speaking proposals, tickets, and sponsorships, contact info@hasgeek.com or call +91-7676332020.

Important dates

Deadline for submitting proposals:

We expect you to submit an outline of your proposed talk – either in the form of a mind map, a text document or draft slides along with your submission. You can edit your submission at any time.

Proposal submissions are now closed.

Confirmed sessions

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Building Native Android Apps in C# and Share code across iOS using Xamarin
Nish (@nishanil) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Thu, Oct 27
2 Effective Gradle Scripts for Android Projects
Arun Babu A S P (@arunbabuasp) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Advanced 5 0 Mon, Sep 19
3 Jack, Jill & Java 8
Chaitanya Nettem (@chaitanyanettem) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 1 0 Mon, Sep 19
4 Going native with GStreamer on Android
Arun Raghavan (@louiswu) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Mon, Sep 19
5 Crafting the perfect MainActivity
Elvis D'Souza (@elvisds) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Sun, Sep 18
6 Scalable Espresso Testing
Harshit Bangar (@bangarh) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 3 0 Fri, Sep 16
7 Firebase Realtime Database deep dive
Soham Mondal (@soham) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 16 0 Wed, Sep 7
8 Building Interfaces with Constraint Layout
Neha Dhanwani (@nehadhanwani) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 15 0 Wed, Aug 10
9 `Rxify`— a simple spell for complex RxJava operators
Garima Jain (@ragdroid) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 24 2 Wed, Aug 10
10 Android NDK - Porting native softwares to Android
Naman Dwivedi (@naman14) Workshop Advanced 11 0 Wed, Aug 10
11 React native in Production
@mariostallone (@mariostallone) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 44 0 Wed, Aug 10
12 Deflating the LayoutInflater
Saket Narayan (@saketme) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 15 1 Wed, Aug 10
13 Rebuilding BookMyShow for Scalability & Maintenance
Adnan A M (@adnan123) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 10 0 Mon, Aug 8
14 Proteus: Android Layout Engine
Aditya Sharat (@adityasharat) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 84 5 Mon, Aug 8
15 Building Watch Faces for Android Wear
Chirag Aggarwal (@chi6rag) Workshop Intermediate 19 0 Sun, Aug 7
16 Mutative Design - User, not Users
Faiz Malkani (@faiz-malkani) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 8 1 Tue, Aug 2
17 Brillo and weave - IOT, the next thunderstorm
Devavrata Sharma (@devavrata) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 71 0 Mon, Aug 1
18 Android Security Internals
Kartik Lalan (@kartiklalan) Workshop Intermediate 6 0 Fri, Jul 29
19 The Mutable State Monster and How to Defeat it.
Anup Cowkur (@anupcowkur) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 12 1 Sun, Jul 24
20 Android Instrumentation: Diagnose & hot fix your live apps, realtime
Mudit Krishna Mathur (@muditkmathur) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 85 4 Thu, Jul 21
21 Functional MVVM using RxJava and Android Data Binding
Manas Chaudhari (@manas-chaudhari) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 54 2 Sat, Jul 9
22 Android Development at Dropbox
Piotr Gurgul (@pgurgul) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 11 0 Sun, Jun 26

Unconfirmed proposals

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Protocol Oriented Programming using Kotlin
Manas Chaudhari (@manas-chaudhari) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Advanced 1 0 Mon, Sep 19
2 Clean Architecture in Android
Prashant Gupta (@prashantgupta17) Crisp talk sponsored (15 minutes) Intermediate 8 0 Mon, Sep 19
3 An Insight on Firebase
Rishabh Khanna (@rishabhkhanna) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 1 0 Sun, Sep 18
4 Messaging Queue in IoT
Hardik Trivedi (@trivedi) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 16 4 Sun, Sep 18
5 Java is stupid, Get Kotlinized
Rakshak R.Hegde (@rakshakhegde) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 28 1 Thu, Sep 15
6 IOT with Mobile
Ratnesh Kumar (@ratnesh-webkul) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 4 0 Thu, Sep 15
7 Constraint Layout in one go
Aastha Gupta (@aasthagupta) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 5 0 Thu, Sep 15
8 Android Design Pattern introducing the MVVM architecture
Aman Gupta (@amangupta) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 4 0 Thu, Sep 15
9 Turn an eCommerce idea into reality
Shubham Agarwal (@shubhamagarwal) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 4 0 Thu, Sep 15
10 Basics of making Augmented Reality Apps
Gur Raunaq Singh (@raunaqsoni) Full talk sponsored (40 minutes) Beginner 0 0 Wed, Sep 14
11 Diving into the Firebase
Gautam Prajapati (@gautamp8) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 4 0 Mon, Sep 12
12 Baking Android with different memory allocaters
satish patel (@satishp7) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Fri, Sep 9
13 Book local(e) cab to user's heart ❤️
Arun Babu A S P (@arunbabuasp) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 8 0 Wed, Aug 10
14 Boilerplate Destruction using Templates
Dhrumil Shah (@dhuma1981) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 21 2 Wed, Aug 10
15 Predictable & Frictionless Mobile Application Delivery for the Next 6 Billion Consumers
senthil kumar (@sethilkumaresan) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 21 0 Wed, Aug 10
16 Applying Microservice Architecture Principles to split large iOS monolith app codebase
Venkatesh CM (@venkateshcm) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 3 0 Wed, Aug 10
17 The Art of Scaling Mobile Apps - Tips, Tricks and Strategies learned on App with 20M+ Downloads
Amiruddin Nagri (@amir) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 8 0 Wed, Aug 10
18 Are you Repeating Mistakes made by PokemonGo Developers ?
Abhinandan Kothari (@abhinandankothari) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 10 0 Wed, Aug 10
19 How CI/CD helps us in avoiding chaos @Go-Jek
Akhil Gupta (@akhilgupta) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 9 0 Wed, Aug 10
20 Deep dive into ChromeCast (Sender & Receiver)
Himanshu Singh (@himanshukumarsingh) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 8 0 Wed, Aug 10
21 Introduction to Leanback support library for Android tv
Upasana Chauhan Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 8 0 Wed, Aug 10
22 Android: Fix that Janky performance
Akhil Gupta (@akhilgupta) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Advanced 6 0 Wed, Aug 10
23 Android App Mining
Vasanthakumar Sarpasayanam (@vasanths) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 13 0 Wed, Aug 10
24 Gradle on Steroids
Sumit Das (@6amedev) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 20 0 Wed, Aug 10
25 Gradle Hacks for Android
Aviral Dasgupta (@aviraldg) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 13 0 Wed, Aug 10
26 Oh! #Gradle, Why so slow?
Arun Babu A S P (@arunbabuasp) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 23 0 Wed, Aug 10
27 Roasting Google APIs on a Firebase to create Uberritos
Ishan Khanna (@ishan1604) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 28 2 Tue, Aug 9
28 Adapting to growing multi-panes
Yash Prabhu (@yprabhu) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Tue, Aug 9
29 A Material Design guide for Android Developers
Yash Prabhu (@yprabhu) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Tue, Aug 9
30 AutoValue Extension
Harshit Bangar (@bangarh) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 7 0 Tue, Aug 9
31 Writing Safety-critical code
Chinmay V S (@thecodeartist) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 1 0 Tue, Aug 9
32 Test Driven Android Development
Baskara Nur Patria (@baskara) Workshop Beginner 35 0 Tue, Aug 9
33 Write an Android Game in C for Free (in 5 minutes)
Chinmay V S (@thecodeartist) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Tue, Aug 9
34 Building quality in for rapidly growing mobile app
Nishant Verma (@nishuverma) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 11 0 Tue, Aug 9
35 Building your next Android app in React Native
Anirudh S (@anirudh24seven) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 3 0 Tue, Aug 9
36 Building Android apps for poor internet networks: real 2G/3G networks in rural cities
Rohit Pandharkar (@rohitpandharkar) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 1 0 Mon, Aug 8
37 Developing scalable Android Applications using Model-View-Presenter Architecture
Vishwajeet Srivastava (@vjs3) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 18 0 Mon, Aug 8
38 MVW - Model View Whatever - Best Architecture For Android Apps ?
Adnan A M (@adnan123) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 6 0 Mon, Aug 8
39 Pirate Metrics with Firebase
Parul Soi (@parulsoi) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 4 0 Mon, Aug 8
40 Open Event, A customisable android app for events
Manan Wason (@mananwason) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 4 0 Sun, Aug 7
41 From Zero to Android Game!
Anjana Achar (@anjanaachar) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 1 0 Sun, Aug 7
42 Firebase Integration with Android
Sridhar (@sridhar100) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 0 0 Sat, Aug 6
43 Testing next billion Android apps through Behaviors
Somashekar gupta (@somashekargupta) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 27 8 Fri, Aug 5
44 Google Analytics Vs Firebase Analytics
Ramasamy M (@ramasamym) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 2 1 Fri, Aug 5
45 Building Quality APIs for Quality Apps
Minni Arora (@minniarora) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 5 0 Fri, Aug 5
46 Wake up: don't misuse notifications but engage users
Kiran Chhabra (@kiranchhabra) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 10 0 Thu, Aug 4
47 Take your Android apps Offline
Minni Arora (@minniarora) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 12 0 Thu, Aug 4
48 Continuous Delivery Pipeline for Mobile Applications
sudeep sr (@sudeepsr) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 7 0 Thu, Aug 4
49 Developing Android apps on Debian
Chirayu Desai (@cdesai) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 7 0 Thu, Aug 4
50 Quick Settings & Split Screen in Android N
Dhrumil Shah (@dhuma1981) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 10 0 Thu, Aug 4
51 Help users get rid of the battery packs
Amrit Sanjeev (@amrit) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 14 0 Tue, Aug 2
52 Android support for IOT gateway solutions.
Rajesh Sola (@rajeshsola) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Tue, Aug 2
53 Bring Android in your Living Room: Developing Apps for Chromecast and Android TV
Chirag Aggarwal (@chi6rag) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 25 0 Mon, Aug 1
54 Developing with Android Wear, Are you ready for version 2.0?
Devavrata Sharma (@devavrata) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 106 1 Mon, Aug 1
55 Continuous Delivery for Android Apps
Leena S N (@snleena) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Tue, Jul 26
56 Building Context Aware Apps
N Vinay Shetty (@nvinayshetty) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 14 3 Mon, Jul 25
57 Android Studio Developer tools
Amrit Sanjeev (@amrit) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 19 1 Sun, Jul 24
58 Creating an aggregator for hyperlocal ecommerce
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 6 0 Thu, Jul 21
59 Building apps for India
Arun Babu A S P (@arunbabuasp) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 14 2 Thu, Jul 21
60 Developing Application for Billions
Paresh Mayani (@pareshmayani) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 12 0 Mon, Jul 18
61 Building Intelligent Android Applications with Microsoft Cognitive Services APIs
Meghaditya Full talk (40 minutes) Advanced 5 0 Fri, Jul 15
62 Android Developer's Toolbox
Paresh Mayani (@pareshmayani) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 68 0 Mon, Jul 11
63 Deep dive into video and ExoPlayer
Shintaro Katafuchi (@hotchemi) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 5 0 Sun, Jul 10
64 Android Security Design and Architecture
jay gupta (@hackertron) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 15 0 Sun, Jul 10
65 Developing apps for Android Auto
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 9 0 Sat, Jul 9
66 Predictable Development with Robolectric and JMock
Giorgio Natili (@giorgionatili) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 0 0 Thu, Jul 7
67 Testing complex apps using Espresso (UI Testing)
Shivaraj Patil (@shivpatil) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 9 0 Tue, Jul 5
68 Android Test Lab with Jenkins, Espresso & Spoon
Shivaraj Patil (@shivpatil) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 8 0 Mon, Jul 4
69 Android Security with Android Tamer
Chandrapal (@bnchandrapal) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 1 0 Sun, Jul 3
70 CI, Unit Testing and Code Coverage in Android
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 13 1 Fri, Jul 1
71 Security in Android Applications
Sunny Aditya (@sunwicked) (proposing) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 2 2 Fri, Jul 1
72 Building Better and Performant SDK
Nishant Srivastava (@nisrulz) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 19 0 Thu, Jun 30
73 You got 10K installs! now what?
Ravi Vyas (@ravivyas) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 5 0 Tue, Jun 28
74 The Kotlin way
Devesh Mittal (@deveshmittal200) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 5 1 Mon, Jun 27
75 Designing for the Next Billion
Raveesh Bhalla (@raveesh) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 5 0 Mon, Jun 27
76 Android Robotics
Aravind S karthik (@theonlykarthik) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 17 0 Fri, Jun 17
77 Radical RecyclerView
Lisa Zeitouni (@lisawray) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 11 0 Thu, Jun 16
78 Persistent Queues with Tape
Prateek Srivastava (@f2prateek) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 3 3 Thu, Jun 16
79 RxJava - The good, bad & the ugly
Adnan A M (@adnan123) Workshop Beginner 11 0 Thu, Jun 16
80 Branch - the de-facto service for deep links
Ankit Saxena Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 10 0 Mon, Jun 13
81 I’ve been doing some syncing…
Paul Lammertsma (@pflammertsma) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 3 0 Fri, Jun 10
82 Web V/S Mobile : Why MVP's Should be made on Web and not mobile
Ishan Vyas (@aspricot) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Wed, May 25
83 Conversational UI: Rise of AI Bots
Saurabh Sharma (@saursharma) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Intermediate 2 0 Mon, May 23
84 Logging the Right Way
Shreyansh Pandey (@weirdpanda) Full talk (40 minutes) Beginner 2 0 Wed, May 11
85 NativeScript : Ninja Stater How-to
Houssem YAHIAOUI (@houssemyahiaoui) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate -7 0 Tue, May 10
86 Importance of mobile analytics - Make informed product decisions
Sidhant Panda (@pi-sidhantpanda) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 4 0 Fri, May 6
87 Essential tools and tips for an effective design workflow
Gabriele Marangon (@gabrimarangon) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 11 0 Tue, May 3
88 REST APIs - How not to screw up your next killer Android app.
Shreyansh Pandey (@weirdpanda) Workshop Intermediate 3 0 Tue, Apr 26
89 6 Hour Design Sprint Focusing on Design Solutions for a Business's Specific Android Problem
Swapnil Borkar (@swapnilborkar) Workshop Intermediate 20 0 Sat, Apr 23
90 Android System Testing with LAVA
Senthil Kumaran S (@stylesen) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 7 2 Wed, Apr 20
91 Firebase: a great backend service for android application
Wilfried Mbouenda Mbogne (@willyshakes) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 6 0 Wed, Mar 30
92 Testing Bluetooth modules is just a tap away
Priyajit Ghosh (@priyajit) Crisp talk sponsored (15 minutes) Beginner 0 0 Tue, Feb 9
93 Testing Bluetooth modules is just a tap away
Priyajit Ghosh (@priyajit) Crisp talk (15 minutes) Beginner 1 0 Tue, Feb 9
94 Android application architecture for truly offline apps
Abhik Mitra (@abmitra) Full talk (40 minutes) Intermediate 17 0 Tue, Jan 19